Our academic program offers twenty Bachelor and two Associate degrees. The curriculum requires one year of general education, followed by major and minor areas of study in liberal arts, sciences, and electives. Pre-professional programs have been designed for students who want to continue advanced professional study after their graduation. A minor is fifteen (15) semester hours or more in a major area of study.

The Rust College academic year is two semesters and two summer terms. The semesters are divided into four eight-week modules, two modules during the first semester and two modules in the second semester. The summer school modules follow immediately after the second semester.

Degrees Offered

  • Bachelor of Science: Biology, Biology Education, Business Administration, Business Education, Chemistry, Computer Science, Elementary Education, English Education, Mathematics, Mathematics Education, Social Science Education, Social Science, and Child Care Management
  • Bachelor of Arts: English, Sociology, Mass Communications/Print Journalism, Mass Communications/Broadcast Journalism, and Political Science
  • Associate of Science: Early Childhood Education and Business Administration
  • Bachelor of Social Work: Social Work

Major Areas of Study

Division of Business

  • Business Administration
    • Areas of Concentration: Accounting, Management, Computer Information Systems

Division of Education

  • Elementary Education
  • Secondary Education (Business, English, Biology, Mathematics, Social Science)
  • Child Care Management
  • Early Childhood Education

Division of Humanities

  • English
    • Areas of Concentration: Literature, Writing
  • Mass Communication/Broadcast Journalism
  • Mass Communication/Print Journalism

Division of Science and Mathematics

  • Biology
  • Computer Science
  • Chemistry
  • Mathematics

Division of Social Sciences

  • Criminal Justice
  • History
  • Political Science
  • Social Work
  • Sociology